Tuesday, December 16, 2008

2009 Pro Bowl Rosters Released (Updated)

by: Chris Sullivan

The NFL has announced the Pro Bowl selections this afternoon, and there is one Seahawk headed to Honolulu: Walter Jones. This will be Jones' eighth consecutive Pro Bowl nomination, and if he is actually able to attend (which I doubt, based on his injury situation) he will be starting next to former teammate Steve Hutchinson. UPDATE: Julian Peterson and Leonard Weaver are listed as alternates.

No other Seahawks made the squad, though don't be surprised to see Marcus Trufant move in if any of the NFC Cornerbacks back out, which is always a possibility. Remember, about 4 Seahawks turned down their nominations last year.

The NFC West pro-bowlers are led by the Arizona Cardinals, with four starters and a special teams fellow: Kurt Warner will start at QB with Anquan Boldin and Larry Fitzgerald both starting at WR. Adrian Wilson will start at strong safety; Sean Morey is the NFC's special teamer. The 49ers have one Pro Bowler in Patrick Willis, who will start at MLB. The St Louis Rams have no Pro Bowlers. ~END~